Upcoming ARISS Contact in Cambridge, Ontario

Upcoming ARISS Contact in Cambridge, Ontario on Thursday, August 18, 2022

Youth at the Cambridge Public Library and Idea Exchange speak with Astronaut Kjell Lindgren, KO5MOS

For immediate release:

Youth at the Public Library and Idea Exchange in Cambridge, Ontario will have their chance to speak to astronaut Kjell Lindgren, KO5MOS, onboard the International Space Station.

On Thursday, August 18 at 1:45 EDT, as the station passes over Cambridge, the local Amateur Radio club will connect directly to the ISS and give the youngsters the chance to ask their 18 questions.

Amateur Radio on the International Space Station (ARISS) has received schedule confirmation for an ARISS radio contact between astronauts aboard the International Space Station (ISS) and Canadian students at the Cambridge Public Library located in Cambridge, ON.

ARISS conducts 60-80 of these special Amateur Radio contacts each year between students around the globe and crew members with Amateur Radio licenses aboard the ISS.

The Cambridge Public Library through Idea Exchange is dedicated to creating an environment of curiosity and discovery, inspiring lifelong learning, reading and creativity for the community at six locations across the City of Cambridge. Prior to this ARISS contact the library has provided a variety of STEAM activities centred around space, science and engineering geared toward children in kindergarten – grade six. Members of the Cambridge Amateur Radio Club are supporting the library during this ARISS contact.

Astronaut Kjell Lindgren

This will be a direct contact via Amateur Radio allowing students to ask their questions of Astronaut Kjell Lindgren, KO5MOS.

Local Covid-19 protocols are adhered to as applicable for each ARISS contact. The downlink frequency for this contact is 145.800 MHz and may be heard by listeners that are within the ISS-footprint that also encompasses the relay ground station.

The Amateur Radio ground station for this contact is in Cambridge, Ontario, Canada. Amateur Radio operators using call sign VE3SWA will operate the ground station to establish and maintain the ISS connection.

The ARISS radio contact is scheduled for August 18, 2022 at 1:45 pm EDT (ON, CAN) (17:45 UTC, 12:45 pm CDT, 11:45 am MDT, 10:45 am PDT).

The public is invited to watch the live stream at:

https://www.youtube.com/c/CambridgeIdeaExchange

Student’s Questions:

As time allows, students will ask these questions:

1) How long does it take an astronaut to go to space?

2) Is space fun?

3) Has anybody been to Pluto yet?

4) How fast does a rocket go?

5) How does the spaceship not hit asteroids in space?

6) Is the sun yellow or white?

7) What is your favourite planet?

8) How do you sleep in space?

9) Do you like the food here or in space better?

10) How do you stay happy?

11) Do you miss your family?

12) Is there candy in space?

13) What do you do if you are feeling bored?

14) What is your favourite thing you have seen in space?

15) How do you go to the washroom in space?

16) How long are you in space for?

17) How do you eat? Does it just float away?

18) How big is the engine of a spaceship?

VA3DBJ

Canadian amateur radio operator since 2007. Operating on the VHF/UHF bands and local repeaters in the Durham Region area. Husband and the father of four.